International Symposium on
Spectroscopy, Structure and Dynamics
(ISSSD - 2002)

December 12-13, 2002

Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science
Jadavpur, Kolkata 700 032
Celebrating 125 years of Excellence


About ISSSDTopics to be discussed, Tentative speakersNational Advisory CommitteeConference Secretariat, Organizing Committee, Contact, Accommodation and Financial assistance, Conference Fee, Important Dates, Registration FormIACS Home


An international Symposium on the theme "Spectroscopy, Structure and Dynamics" will be held on December 12 and 13, 2002, in the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Jadavpur, Calcutta 700 032. Distinguished scientists from India and abroad have been invited to deliver lectures on wide ranging topics.

In addition to invited lectures there will be two poster sessions. Scientists willing to contribute posters are requested to fill in the accompanying pre-registration form, specifying the tentative title of the poster. All the participants will have to pay a registration fee of Rs. 600/- (Rupees six hundred only).

Topics to be discussed

1. High Resolution Spectroscopy
2. Ultrafast Photo-dynamics/Solvation Dynamics
3. Magnetic Field Effects in Chemistry
4. Electron Correlation Problem and Theoretical Spectroscopy
5. Quantum Dynamics and Complex Systems

Tentative Speakers

R. Hoffmann,
C. N. R. Rao
W. H. Miller,
H. Gray,
K. Yoshihara,
L. S. Cederbaum,
D. H. Levy,
J. Burton,
L. G. Arnaut,
M. Topp,
B. Bagchi,
N. Sathyamurthy,
S. Maity,
J. P. Mittal,
S. Sastri and others.

National Advisory Committee

1. Professor C. N. R. Rao, F.R.S. (Chairman)
2. Dr. J. P. Mittal (BARC)
3. Professor M. V. George (RRL, Thiruvanthapuram)
4. Professor D. Chakravorty (IACS)
5. Professor A. Chakravorty (IACS)
6. Professor A. K. Barua (IACS)
7. Professor D. Mukherjee (IACS)
8. Professor B. M. Deb (Chandigarh)
9. Professor N. Sathyamurthy (IIT, Kanpur)
10. Professor S. R.Gadre (Pune University)
11. Professor D. V. S. Jain (Chandigarh)
12. Professor P. T. Manoharan (IIT, Chennai)
13. Professor V.Krishnan (IISc, Bangalore)
14. Professor N. K. Ray (Delhi)
15. Professor N. Periaswamy (TIFR)
16. Professor S. Mitra (TIFR)

Conference Secretariat
Chairman of the Steering Committee: Professor D. Mukherjee 
Director, IACS
Convener: Professor S. C. Bera 
Chemistry Department, Jadavpur University
Joint Secretaries: Professor D. S. Ray (IACS) and 
Professor S. Ghosh (Presidency College, Calcutta)
Treasurer:  Professor S. Mukherjee 
Department of Physical Chemistry, IACS

Organizing Committee

1. K. Bhattacharyya (IACS)
2. S. Dattagupta (SINP)
3. D. N. Nath (IACS)
4. A. Samanta (Hyderabad)
5. S. Bagchi (Burdwan)
6. N. Chattopadhyay (JU)
7. B. Karmakar (Calcutta)
8. S. Basu(SINP)
9. M. Halder (VU)
10. A. Mukherjee (IIJR)
11. N. Roy Chowdhury (IACS)
12. B. P. Chatterjee (IACS)
13. S. Ghosh (IACS)
14. B. M. Mondal (IACS)
15. J. K. Bhattacharyya (IACS)
16. R. K. Mukherjee (IACS)
17. T. Chakraborty (IITK)
18. A. K. Banerjee (Calcutta)
19. K. Bhattacharyya (Burdwan)
20. S. N. Bhattacharyya (CU)
21. R. Saha (VU)
22. A. Chakraborty (Calcutta)
23. N. Guchhait (CU)
24. T. Kundu (IITB)
25. Ashoke Sen (USA)
26. R. Ghosh (Calcutta)
27. Pradyut Bera (Calcutta)
28. Ajay Mishra (Calcutta)
29. Sudip Bandopadhyay (IACS)
30. Partha Parui (IACS)
31. S. P. Bhattacharyya (IACS)

Correspondence :

All communications should be addressed to one of the Symposium Secretaries at the following addresses:
Professor D S Ray 
Joint Secretary, ISSSD
Department of Physical Chemistry
Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Jadavpur, Calcutta 700 032, India
Professor S Ghosh 
Joint Secretary, ISSSD
Head, Department of Chemistry
Presidency College 
Calcutta 700 012, India

Accommodation & Financial Assistance

The organizing committee is pleased to offer full local hospitality. Due to paucity of funds, the organizing committee pleads inability to provide travel support to the participants except students who can be paid second class railway fare (both ways) by the shortest route.

Conference Fee

Registration fee is to be paid by demand draft (Rs. 600/-) made payable to "ISSSD Secretariat".

Receipt of filled-in pre-registration form : July 31, 2002
Submission of 1-page Abstract of the poster:  August 31, 2002
Payment of Registration Fee: September 30, 2002
Confirmed arrival details: October 31, 2002

Welcome to IACS and the City of Kolkata