A one-day seminar on Recent Trend in Condensed Matter Physics

Organized by the Department of Solid State Physics
Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science
on 4th December 2006
to mark the 108th birth anniversary of Prof. K. S. Krishnan.


10:00 am - 10: 30 am Registration
Oral Lecture (Session I)
10:30 am - 11:00 am L1: Magnetism in nanostructured materials. Prof. B. N. Dev (IACS)
11:05 am - 11:35 am L2: Driven dirty solids. Dr. Surajeet Sengupta (SNBNCBS)
11:40 am - 12:00 noon Tea
Oral Lecture (Session II)
12:00 noon . 12:30 pm L3:A study on metal-amino acid interaction by spectroscopic measurements and DFT calculations. Dr. Anushree Roy (IIT Kharagpur)
12:35 pm . 1:05 pm L4: Molecular magnetic materials. Dr. Ashis Bhattacharjee
1:10 pm . 2:00 pm Lunch
Oral Lecture (Session III)
2:00 pm . 2:30 pm L5: NMR studies in linear spin chain compounds. Prof. K. Ghoshray (SINP)
2:35 pm . 3:05 pm L6: New facets of old ferroelectrics: Ferroglass
state to moisture sensor.
Dr. A. N. Sen (CGCRI)
3:10 pm - 3:30 pm Tea
Oral Lecture (Session IV)
3:30 pm - 4:00 pm L7: Recent developments in p-type transparent
conducting oxide materials and its nano-structures.
Dr. Kalyan Kumar Chattopadhyay (Jadavpur Univ.)
4:05 pm - 4:35 pm L8: Novel phenomena related to low field
magnetoresistance in magnetic nanostructures.
Dr. Indranil Das (SINP)